Inspired Tradition, Reno Philharmonic 2011-12 MasterClassics Series
5 Apr 2012
Inspired Tradition Reno Philharmonic Orchestra, Laura Jackson conducting Sunday, February 26, 2012, 4:00 pm Tuesday, February 28, 2012, 7:30 pm Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts Johannes BRAHMS Concerto for Violin in D Major, op. 77, featuring Rachel Barton Pine, violin Zhou TIAN The Palace of Nine Perfections Richard STRAUSS Suite from Der Rosenkavalier, op. 59 Tickets are $73-20, with senior and student discounts For more information: or 775/323-6393 Rather than radical breaks with history, musical creativity builds upon the past. New ideas do not trample tradition so much as transform it. Heard as one of music's great classicists (in comparison to contemporaries like Wagner) Brahms did not imitate his predecessors, but imagined new soundscapes appearing from the shadows of Beethoven, such as his one-and-only violin concerto written for his friend and superstar, Joseph Joachim. After extendi
<September 2019>

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Laura Jackson to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.

Header Photo

Credit: Jeff Dow