Rimsky Korsakov's "Procession of the Nobles" Reno Phil Brass Quintet
27 Mar 2021
The Reno Phil Brass Quintet performs Rimsky Korsakov's Procession of the Nobles, March 2021. Performers: John Lenz, Principal Horn Paul Lenz, Principal Trumpet Jon Bhatia, Trumpet James Albrecht, Principal Trombone Russ Dickman, Principal Tuba Program Note by Chris Morrison Procession of the Nobles From Mlada Composed: 1889 Duration: 4 minutes Instrumentation: brass quintet Mlada, with its rather convoluted plot but frequently lovely music, began life in 1872 as a collaborative project involving Rimsky-Korsakov and fellow composers Alexander Borodin, Modest Mussorgsky, Cesar Cui, and Ludwig Minkus. That project was abandoned, unfinished, and only in 1889 did Rimsky-Korsakov decided to carry on with work on that same libretto, completing it the following year. Set a millennium ago in an imaginary Slavic kingdom on the Baltic Sea called Rethra, the opera tells the story of a princess, Mlada (a danced rather than sung role), who has been poisoned by Voyslava so that she can have Prin
<June 2021>

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Laura Jackson to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.

Header Photo

Credit: Jeff Dow